Author: Greiner AG

Greiner Talks: Let’s stop plastic pollution!

“Together we can put an end to plastic waste in the environment.”

More than 3 billion people on our planet do not have access to waste collection systems. Without the most necessary infrastructure to properly dispose of waste, the pollution of our environment is inevitable. As a result, around 11 million tons of plastic end up in our oceans every year. Solving this immense global problem is our shared responsibility. The Alliance to End Plastic Waste has therefore set itself the goal of putting an end to the plastic crisis through international cooperation, focusing on infrastructure, innovation, education and cleanup. Greiner Packaging has joined the Alliance at the end of last year.

In this episode of Greiner Talks, we speak with Jacob Duer, CEO of the Alliance to End Plastic Waste. After a decades-long career with the United Nations, he now heads the Alliance, a non-profit organization based in Singapore. Since its founding in January 2019, the organization has built a network of more than 50 international partners – including some of the most important companies in the global plastics industry. What challenges does the Alliance face, how can we put an end to plastic pollution, and what do we as Greiner contribute to solving this crisis? Listen in and learn more.

Greiner Talks is our podcast series. We regularly meet with experts from all over the world to exchange views on the topic of “Sustainability and Transformation” and discuss the perspectives and opportunities of a sustainable economy and society.

Click here to find all episodes of Greiner Talks.

Author:

Greiner AG

Kontakt

Verfasser*in: Greiner AG

Greiner Talks: Lösen wir die Plastikkrise!

„Gemeinsam können wir die Umweltverschmutzung durch Plastik beenden.“

Mehr als 3 Milliarden Menschen weltweit haben keinen Zugang zu Müllsammelsystemen. Es fehlt an der nötigsten Infrastruktur, um Abfälle korrekt entsorgen zu können. So landen jährlich etwa 11 Millionen Tonnen an Plastikmüll in unseren Ozeanen – ein absolut inakzeptabler Zustand. Es ist klar: Dieses immense globale Problem kann nur durch gemeinsames Handeln gelöst werden. Die Alliance to End Plastic Waste hat sich deshalb zum Ziel gesetzt, durch internationale Zusammenarbeit in den Bereichen Infrastruktur, Innovation, Bildung und Cleanup der Plastikkrise ein Ende zu setzen. Seit vergangenem Jahr ist auch Greiner Packaging Teil der Alliance.

In dieser Episode von Greiner Talks sprechen wir mit Jacob Duer, dem Geschäftsführer der Alliance to End Plastic Waste. Nach jahrzehntelanger Karriere bei den Vereinten Nationen leitet er nun die Alliance, eine Non-profit Organisation mit Sitz in Singapur. Seit der Gründung im Jänner 2019 konnte ein Netzwerk von über 50 internationalen Partnern aufgebaut werden – darunter einige der wichtigsten Unternehmen der globalen Kunststoffindustrie. Vor welchen Herausforderungen steht die Alliance, wie kann der Umweltverschmutzung durch Plastik ein Ende gesetzt werden, und was tragen wir als Greiner zur Lösung dieser Krise bei? Hören Sie rein und erfahren Sie mehr.

Greiner Talks ist unser Podcast-Format. Zum Themenschwerpunkt „Nachhaltigkeit und Transformation“ tauschen wir uns in regelmäßigen Abständen mit Expertinnen und Experten aus aller Welt über die Perspektiven und Chancen einer zukunftsfähigen Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft aus.

Hier geht’s zu allen Episoden von Greiner Talks.

Verfasser*in:

Greiner AG

Kontakt